If you have a formal relationship with your boss, you might need to schedule a meeting with his secretary. Tell the secretary you need to schedule a short meeting and that it’s important. Also give notice when you are coming to the end of large projects. [1] X Research source You need to leave your job gracefully, which means wrapping up loose ends on any unfinished work. Try to give more than 2 weeks’ notice if possible if you’re in a senior position. [2] X Expert Source Amber Rosenberg, PCCPacific Life Coach Expert Interview. 26 February 2019.

Don’t go negative. Now is not the time to unload on your boss, even if you hated your job. The past is in the past, and you need to adopt a positive attitude. [3] X Expert Source Amber Rosenberg, PCCPacific Life Coach Expert Interview. 26 February 2019. Keep it simple. You don’t need to go into a long, detailed story about why you are leaving. You’ve decided to make the switch—that’s all your boss is entitled to know. Identify something you’re grateful for. If possible, you should thank your boss for giving you the job. Mention one or two things you’ve learned.

Hopefully, you haven’t told anyone else at work that you have accepted a new job. If you have, then your boss might already know. Also, your new employer might have called for a reference. If your boss says, “You’re leaving, right?” just roll with it. Smile and nod your head.

For example, you can say, “I’ve had a great time working here and learning from you, and I’m ready for my challenge. I’ve accepted a new position at XYZ Company and begin in 2 weeks. I’m more than happy to help find and train someone to fill my place. ” Give your boss a second to respond, if they have anything to say.

For example, you can say, “Thanks for the offer, but I’ve already made up my mind. It’s not really the money, but the opportunity to advance. They said they’d consider me for a promotion after three months and I’m excited to get started. ”

For example, you can say, “I’d never have gotten this job if you hadn’t hired me right out of college. I really appreciate it. What I’ve learned here will be the foundation of my success. ”

Ideally, you will tell people who are important to you in person. Ask your boss to hold off on the email until you’ve had a chance to speak to them.

You should also make sure they have your new work email address. Mentoring should continue even after you leave your job. Remember to thank them for helping you. Say something like, “You’ve been the best sounding board, Kathy. I hope we stay in touch. ”

Ideally, you should settle on a story that is non-controversial. For example, you can simply say, “They promised promotion opportunities which I want to pursue. ” Everyone can understand why you would want to leave for that reason. Whatever you do, don’t badmouth anyone, not even over drinks after work. If you need to vent, then call up your parents or therapist.

For example, other team members you work with occasionally should probably get an individual email. They might need to check about the status of a project. If you’re pressed for time, you can send one email and blind copy everyone on it. However, individual emails are better if you have time.

Absolutely fight the urge to trash the company in a good-bye email. No matter how angry you are, nothing good has ever come from these stunts. Sometimes, they even end up in the news.

Your boss should have told you who to address the letter to. If you don’t know, then call Human Resources to check. Don’t delay writing the letter. You should draft it as soon as you tell your boss.

For example, you can write, “I hereby resign as marketing assistant at ABC Corporation, effective May 22, 2017. ”

For example, you can write, “I can’t thank you enough for hiring me nine months ago as your marketing assistant. This job allowed me to put my college education immediately to work, while teaching me more than four years of college ever could. ”

For example, if you’ve been criticized in the past for being tardy, you can subtly explain why. You can write something like, “This company has been incredibly understanding. Even when I was going through chemotherapy and missing some time at work, I still managed to finish all of my work, thanks to the thoughtful staff at ABC Corp. ” Remember to keep it brief and professional. You shouldn’t give a long-winded defense in which you go point-by-point and rebut every criticism ever made of you. Instead, explain away one or two of the major criticisms.

For example, you can write, “Thanks again for the nine months to learn and grow with this company. I wouldn’t be where I am today without the help of my direct supervisor, Greg Jones, and my co-workers Caron Smith and Abbi Johnson. ”